CLF® (Chartered Leadership Fellow®)


The CLF® designation indicates advanced education in leading financial services teams. Coursework includes a combination of self-study and academic residency at The American College.

Educational Requirements:

CLF® candidates must complete seven required courses: Integrated Leadership Practices; Practice Management Concepts; Leadership in a Changing World; Interpersonal Relationships in the Workplace; Creative Problem-Solving & Strategic Planning; Leading the Marketing Organization of the Future; and the Field Management Seminar.


Requires three-years of full-time, relevant business experience.


Must adhere to The American College’s Code of Ethics, which includes the following professional pledge: “I shall, in light of all conditions surrounding those I serve, which I shall make every conscientious effort to ascertain and understand, render that service which, in the same circumstances, I would apply to myself.”


Requires seven open-book, essay exams.

Continuing Education:

30 hours of continuing education (including 1 ethics) credits every two years.


Designation may be removed for unethical conduct through the certification committee of The American College’s Board of Trustees.


The American College has the highest level of educational accreditation—regional accreditation—through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

File a Complaint about a Designee:

You may file a complaint in writing to: The Registrar; The American College; 270 S. Bryn Mawr Ave; Bryn Mawr, PA, 19010 or by emailing

Issuing Institution:

The American College, an accredited non-profit educational institution with an 84-year heritage, confers the CLF®. The College has a full-time faculty of industry experts and is the leading educator of financial professionals in the United States.

Note: The American College is providing this information as a public service. It is correct to the best of our knowledge, but we neither guarantee its accuracy nor endorse any credentials for which we are not responsible as a credentialing organization.

Sponsored by: