CIMA® Certification (Certified Investment Management AnalystSM)


The CIMA® designation is designed specifically for financial professionals who want to attain a level of competency as an advanced investment consultant.

Educational Requirements:

Educational component is offered through Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Topics include modern portfolio theory, asset allocation, manager search and selection, investment policy, and performance measurement.


Candidates must pass a Qualification Examination prior to enrolling in the education program and undergo a background check through IMCA.


CIMA® designees must abide by the Code of Professional Responsibility and the Standards of Practice. The full text of these may be found by visiting:


Certification exam is administered at designated times during the year at national testing centers.

Continuing Education:

40 hours of continuing education, including two ethics hours, required every two years.


Public disciplinary process is available online:


The CIMA® credential is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

File a Complaint about a Designee:

Consumers may file a complaint by downloading a grievance form from and mailing it to:

Attn: Complaints
5619DTC Parkway, Suite 500
Greenwood Village, CO 80111

Issuing Institution:

The Investment Management Consultants Association grants the CIMA® designation.

Note: The American College is providing this information as a public service. It is correct to the best of our knowledge, but we neither guarantee its accuracy nor endorse any credentials for which we are not responsible as a credentialing organization.

Sponsored by: