CEBS (Certified Employee Benefits Specialist)


The CEBS program provides education for advisors working in the employee benefits and compensation industry through an eight-course curriculum.

Educational Requirements:

CEBS designees have completed six required and two elective courses. Required courses include: Group Health Plan Design; Group Benefits Management; Retirement Plan Design; Retirement Plan Management; Human Resources and Compensation Management; Compensation Concepts and Principles.


Applicants for the CEBS designation cannot have engaged in any conduct that would bring discredit to the CEBS program during the 15-year period prior to completion of the application and on or after the candidate’s 18th birthday


CEBS designees must adhere to the CEBS Pledge: “I pledge to abide by the CEBS Principles of Conduct in all my fiduciary, business and professional relationships, and to participate only in activities that conform with the spirit of those principles; I shall strive at all times to maintain and uphold the highest standards of honor and integrity, so that the quality of my work will reflect credit on the CEBS designation, my profession and the employee benefits field. View Principles of Conduct here:


Requires closed-book, proctored examinations for each course.

Continuing Education:

No requirement.


No defined procedure.


While IFEBP has no accreditation, it’s academic partner, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, is accredited.

File a Complaint about a Designee:

No defined procedure.

Issuing Institution:

The CEBS designation is issued by the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans and Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.

Note: The American College is providing this information as a public service. It is correct to the best of our knowledge, but we neither guarantee its accuracy nor endorse any credentials for which we are not responsible as a credentialing organization.

Sponsored by: